Research use only Not for human or animal use or consumption. Not FDA-approved. Buyers must be 21+ and accept our Terms of Service and Compliance Policy.

How Net Peptide Content Is Determined: Amino-Acid Analysis, qNMR, Counter-Ion and Water

Published Updated Category: ReferenceStart here: What are research peptides?
In brief. Net peptide content is the mass fraction of a lyophilized solid that is peptide, determined by amino-acid analysis, quantitative NMR, elemental nitrogen analysis or by subtracting measured counter-ion and water from the total mass. It is not an HPLC result: for a hypothetical 1,000.0 g/mol peptide with two counter-ions, the peptide fraction is 89.3% as the acetate salt and 81.4% as the trifluoroacetate salt before water is counted. Net peptide content is not reported for Pepta Labs listings, whose reports cover RP-HPLC purity and mass-spectrometry identity only.

Net peptide content, the mass fraction of a lyophilized solid that is peptide, is determined by amino-acid analysis (USP <1052>), quantitative NMR (USP <761>), elemental nitrogen analysis, or by subtracting separately measured counter-ion (ion chromatography, or 19F NMR for trifluoroacetate) and water (Karl Fischer titration, USP <921>) from the total mass. It is what remains after counter-ions, water and other non-peptide solids are accounted for. It is not an HPLC result, and it is not reported for Pepta Labs listings; the analytical report covers RP-HPLC purity and MS identity only.

What is net peptide content, and how is it different from purity?

Net peptide content is a mass balance: the peptide's share, in percent by mass (% w/w), of everything in the solid. A lyophilized synthetic peptide is not a single pure substance. It is the peptide, plus the counter-ions paired with its protonated basic groups, plus water held by the solid, plus small amounts of other non-peptide material such as residual solvent or inorganic salt.

  • Mass balance: mass of solid = peptide + counter-ions + water + other non-peptide solids.
  • Definition: net peptide content (%) = peptide mass / mass of solid x 100.
  • Converting a solid to peptide: peptide mass = mass of solid x net peptide content.

Net peptide content says nothing about how pure the peptide fraction is. Amino-acid analysis and nitrogen analysis count every peptide-derived species in the sample, including synthesis-related impurities such as deletion sequences, so the content of the target peptide alone is approximately the net peptide content multiplied by the HPLC purity. The two numbers answer different questions: purity is "how much of the peptide is the right peptide", and net peptide content is "how much of the powder is peptide at all". The HPLC purity guide covers the first number; this page covers the second.

Which methods determine net peptide content?

Four measurement routes give net peptide content: amino-acid analysis, quantitative NMR, elemental nitrogen analysis, and subtraction of measured counter-ion and water from the total mass. Reversed-phase HPLC area-percent purity is not one of them.

MethodWhat it measuresUSP chapterReports content asNeeds a reference standard?
Amino-acid analysisAmount of each amino acid freed by acid hydrolysis of a sample of known mass<1052>Peptide % w/w, from the summed amino-acid amounts and the sequenceYes: amino-acid calibration standards, not a standard of the peptide itself
Quantitative NMR (qNMR)Area of a peptide resonance against a resonance of an internal standard of known mass and purity<761>Peptide % w/w, read directlyYes: a certified internal standard of a different compound
Elemental nitrogen analysisNitrogen percentage of the whole solid by combustion analysisNone cited on this pagePeptide % w/w, as measured nitrogen divided by the nitrogen fraction calculated from the formulaInstrument calibration only; no peptide standard
Counter-ion determination (ion chromatography / 19F NMR)Trifluoroacetate, acetate or chloride content of the solidNone cited on this pageCounter-ion % w/w, used in the subtraction routeYes: anion calibration standards
Water determination (Karl Fischer)Water content of the solid by titration<921>Water % w/w, used in the subtraction routeTitrant standardized against a water standard
RP-HPLCMain-peak share of total UV peak area<621>Does not determine content; area-percent purity onlyNo, for area-percent purity

Why do gross mass and peptide mass differ?

Gross mass and peptide mass differ because a purified peptide is isolated as a salt that holds water. Peptides purified by reversed-phase HPLC with trifluoroacetic acid in the mobile phase come off the column as trifluoroacetate salts, and an ion-exchange step can replace the trifluoroacetate with acetate or chloride. Each protonated basic site pairs with one counter-ion. The basic sites are the free N-terminal amine (absent when the N-terminus is acetylated), the lysine side-chain amine, the arginine guanidine group and the histidine imidazole. A peptide with more basic residues therefore carries more counter-ion mass per molecule.

Water is the second contributor. A lyophilized peptide keeps bound water and takes up more from air, and a water figure appears on a report only when a water determination was run, usually Karl Fischer titration (USP <921>). The TFA vs acetate guide covers where the salt form appears on a report; the worked example below shows the arithmetic.

How does amino-acid analysis determine content?

Amino-acid analysis determines content by breaking the peptide into its amino acids, quantifying them against calibration standards, and converting the result back to peptide mass. The technique is described in USP <1052> (Biotechnology-Derived Articles: Amino Acid Analysis). The sequence of steps:

  1. A sample of known mass is heated in strong acid until every peptide bond is hydrolysed to free amino acids.
  2. The amino acids are separated by chromatography and detected, either after derivatization (ninhydrin after the column is the classical reagent) or directly.
  3. Each amino acid is quantified against calibration standards of known amount.
  4. The amount of each stable residue is divided by the number of times it occurs in the sequence, and the results are averaged to give the amount of peptide.
  5. The amount of peptide is multiplied by the peptide's molecular weight to give peptide mass, which is divided by the sample mass to give % w/w.

Acid hydrolysis changes some residues: tryptophan is destroyed, asparagine and glutamine are converted to aspartic and glutamic acid, and serine, threonine, cysteine and methionine are partly lost or oxidized. That is why step 4 relies on the residues that survive hydrolysis intact.

How does quantitative NMR determine content?

Quantitative NMR determines content by comparing the area of a peptide resonance with the area of a resonance from a certified internal standard of known mass and purity, measured in the same sample. Peak area in a proton NMR spectrum is proportional to the number of nuclei giving rise to it, so the ratio of the two areas, corrected for the number of protons in each resonance and for the two molecular weights, gives the peptide mass directly. No hydrolysis or derivatization is needed. USP <761> (Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy) describes the technique; this page cites it for the technique only and attributes no acceptance value to it.

How are counter-ion and water measured?

Counter-ion and water are measured by separate assays, and net peptide content is then taken as the balance of the mass. Ion chromatography measures trifluoroacetate, acetate and chloride. 19F NMR measures trifluoroacetate from the single peak of its three equivalent fluorine atoms; an ordinary peptide contains no fluorine, so nothing else appears in that spectrum. Karl Fischer titration (USP <921>, Water Determination) measures water.

The subtraction route is: net peptide content = 100% minus counter-ion % minus water % minus any other measured non-peptide material. Because anything left unmeasured is counted as peptide, a content found by subtraction is an upper bound, and it is only as complete as the list of assays run.

How does elemental nitrogen analysis relate to content?

Elemental nitrogen analysis gives net peptide content as the nitrogen percentage of the solid measured by combustion analysis, divided by the nitrogen percentage calculated from the peptide's formula. Trifluoroacetate, acetate, chloride and water contain no nitrogen, so in a clean sample the nitrogen comes from the peptide. As a hypothetical example, a peptide whose formula gives 16.0% nitrogen and whose solid measures 13.6% nitrogen has a net peptide content of 13.6 / 16.0 = 85.0%. Nitrogen from any other source, such as residual acetonitrile from purification or ammonium salts, is counted as peptide and raises the result.

How do you calculate net peptide content from the formula?

A formula-only calculation adds one acid equivalent per counter-ion to the peptide's molecular weight and divides. Each counter-ion adds one acid equivalent, which is the anion plus the proton on the basic site, so the molar mass added is that of the acid: acetic acid 60.05 g/mol (computed from the formula C2H4O2), trifluoroacetic acid 114.02 g/mol (computed from C2HF3O2) and hydrogen chloride 36.46 g/mol (computed from HCl).

  • Two acetates: for a hypothetical peptide of molecular weight 1,000.0 g/mol carrying two acetate counter-ions per molecule, the salt weighs 1,000.0 + 2 x 60.05 (acetic acid) = 1,120.1 g/mol, and the peptide fraction is 1,000.0 / 1,120.1 = 89.3%.
  • Two trifluoroacetates: with two trifluoroacetate counter-ions it weighs 1,000.0 + 2 x 114.02 (trifluoroacetic acid) = 1,228.0 g/mol, and the fraction is 1,000.0 / 1,228.0 = 81.4%.
  • Two chlorides: with two chloride counter-ions it weighs 1,000.0 + 2 x 36.46 (hydrogen chloride) = 1,072.9 g/mol, and the fraction is 1,000.0 / 1,072.9 = 93.2%.
  • Adding water: with 5% water by mass in addition, each fraction is multiplied by 0.95, giving 84.8% for the acetate, 77.4% for the trifluoroacetate and 88.5% for the chloride.
The worked example uses a round, hypothetical molecular weight and an assumed stoichiometry. It is a calculated value, not a measurement. A real sample can carry fewer counter-ions than it has basic sites, or a mixture of two counter-ions, and its water content is known only if it was measured.

Where do these values appear on an analytical report, and where do they not?

On a report that includes them, these values appear as separate lines: peptide content (% w/w, with the method named), water content (Karl Fischer) and counter-ion content (for example trifluoroacetate %). Each line is present only when that assay was run. A report that lists only an HPLC purity and a mass-spectrometry result makes no statement about net peptide content, whatever the purity figure is. The COA verification guide walks through each field of a report, and the mass spectrometry guide explains the identity section.

Pepta Labs reports carry RP-HPLC purity and MS identity only, so no net peptide content, water content or counter-ion content is asserted for any listing. The testing represented is: "Independent third-party HPLC purity analysis and mass-spectrometry identity confirmation, commissioned through the purchasing group on a sampled production run from the source. Pepta Labs does not test in-house." The testing not claimed is: "Sterility, endotoxin or LAL, potency, pharmaceutical-grade, cGMP, contaminant-panel and vial fill-quantity testing are not claimed." Reports are "Sent by email on request, before you order if you want to see it first." Vial labels "do not carry lot or batch numbers", so the report describes the sampled production run rather than an individual vial. The full scope is on the quality page.

A 99% HPLC purity on a report is an area-percent figure. It is not a net peptide content, and it is not an assay against a reference standard.

Frequently asked questions

Is net peptide content the same as HPLC purity?

No. HPLC purity is the main peak's share of the total chromatogram area, while net peptide content is the peptide's share of the solid's mass; the two are independent numbers, and a sample that is 99% pure by HPLC can still be well below 100% peptide by mass because of counter-ions and water.

What is a peptide content assay?

A peptide content assay is a measurement of how much of a weighed solid is peptide, reported in percent by mass (% w/w); it is carried out by amino-acid analysis, quantitative NMR, elemental nitrogen analysis or by subtracting measured counter-ion and water, and it is a different test from RP-HPLC area-percent purity.

Why is a trifluoroacetate salt lower in peptide content than an acetate salt?

Because each trifluoroacetate anion weighs 113.02 g/mol against 59.04 g/mol for acetate (both computed from the formula), so the same number of counter-ions adds more non-peptide mass; counting the proton on the basic site, each counter-ion adds 114.02 g/mol as trifluoroacetic acid against 60.05 g/mol as acetic acid.

What is the difference between peptide assay and net peptide content?

An assay is the absolute amount of the named compound in a sample, measured against a reference standard of known content, while net peptide content is the share of the solid's mass that is peptide of any kind; an HPLC assay against a standard of the same peptide reports the target alone, whereas amino-acid and nitrogen analysis count all peptide-derived material.

Does Pepta Labs report net peptide content?

No. The analytical report for a sourced production run covers RP-HPLC purity and MS identity only, so no listing states a peptide mass net of counter-ion and water.

Can net peptide content be calculated from the formula alone?

Only as a calculated value for an assumed salt stoichiometry and water content, as in the worked example on this page; a measured value requires amino-acid analysis, quantitative NMR, nitrogen analysis or measured counter-ion and water.

Sources

  • USP General Chapter <1052> Biotechnology-Derived Articles: Amino Acid Analysis.
  • USP General Chapter <761> Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy.
  • USP General Chapter <921> Water Determination.
  • USP General Chapter <621> Chromatography.
  • Molar masses of acetic acid, trifluoroacetic acid, hydrogen chloride and their anions: computed from the molecular formula.
See the report before you order. Pepta Labs reports cover RP-HPLC purity and mass-spectrometry identity for the sampled production run and are sent by email on request (request a report). Browse BPC-157 from $44.38, GHK-Cu from $56.41, ipamorelin from $36.99 and TB-500 from $56.73, or the GLOW 70 and KLOW 80 bundles (see the bundle page for price). Code FALL25 gives 25% off at checkout. Payment methods are shown at checkout. The cart shows the payment method for each item.

All products are supplied for laboratory research use only and are not for human or animal use.

Information is provided for educational purposes only and is limited to chemistry, identity, analytical, ordering and regulatory-status facts. This content does not represent claims about products sold by Pepta Labs. All products are supplied for in-vitro laboratory research only. Not for human or animal consumption. See Terms of Service and Compliance Policy.

Browse Research Compounds

35 research compounds. Independent analytical reports (COA) available by email request. Free US shipping.

View Catalog →