Independent Peptide Testing: What an Analytical Laboratory Tests, and What Sets the Cost and Turnaround
In brief. Third-party peptide testing is the analysis of a peptide sample by a laboratory with no part in making or selling it: reversed-phase HPLC gives purity as the main peak's share of integrated peak area, mass spectrometry confirms identity against the mass calculated from the formula, and net peptide content is a separate analysis. The cost is the sum of the analyses requested per sample at the laboratory's list price, and the turnaround is the laboratory's stated time from sample receipt plus shipping. Pepta Labs does not test in-house; its report covers independent RP-HPLC purity and mass-spectrometry identity for a sampled production run and is sent by email on request.
Third-party peptide testing is the analysis of a peptide sample by an analytical laboratory that neither made nor sells the material: reversed-phase HPLC gives purity, mass spectrometry confirms identity, and net peptide content is a separate, third measurement. Each laboratory sets the cost per analysis per sample on its own published service menu, and its stated turnaround has to be read for its starting point, sample receipt or order. This guide maps each analysis to the question it answers and the question it cannot, lists what to compare on a laboratory's menu, and quotes what Pepta Labs states about its analytical report.
What is third-party peptide testing?
Third-party peptide testing means the measurement is made by a laboratory with no part in the synthesis or the sale, and the report is issued by that laboratory. In-house testing is the same measurement made by the manufacturer or the seller. The instrument and the method can be identical; what differs is who measured the sample and who issued the report.
A peptide COA (certificate of analysis) is the report that records those results. For a research peptide it carries the reversed-phase HPLC (RP-HPLC) purity, expressed as area-percent of the main peak, and the mass-spectrometric identity, expressed as an observed mass against a mass calculated from the molecular formula, together with the method conditions and the fields that tie the numbers to a laboratory, a date and a sample.
Independence settles one question and leaves others open. An independent report establishes that a laboratory outside the sale measured the sample it received. It does not, on its own, establish where that sample came from or anything the laboratory did not measure. A production-run report records a sample of one run and is matched to a purchase by compound name and order, not by a lot number printed on the vial; it is not a per-vial certificate. Those limits are why a report is read field by field, as set out in how to read and verify a peptide COA.
Two kinds of service share the word "testing." An analytical laboratory reports numbers for the sample it receives and does not grade the seller. A service that ranks sellers or publishes seller scorecards is a different kind of business. This guide covers analytical laboratories only.
Which analysis answers which question, and what can each one not show?
Each analytical method answers one chemical question about a peptide sample, and each has a blind spot that another method covers. The list below is the map: the analysis, the question it answers, and what it cannot show.
- Reversed-phase HPLC with UV detection: purity. Answers what share of the detector response at one wavelength, usually 214 to 220 nm where the peptide bond absorbs, belongs to the main peak. Purity is the main-peak area divided by the total integrated peak area, times 100, so a main peak of 1,960 area units in a chromatogram totalling 2,000 is reported as 98.0%. Cannot show which molecule the main peak is, material that does not absorb at that wavelength or that elutes under the main peak, or the water, counter-ion and mass of solid in a vial. The full method is in HPLC purity of research peptides.
- Mass spectrometry, ESI or MALDI: identity. Answers whether the main species has the mass calculated from the molecular formula, within the tolerance the report states: about ±0.1% on low-resolution electrospray instruments and a few parts per million on high-resolution ones. Cannot show a purity percentage, because different species ionize with different efficiency; cannot show the order of residues in a sequence of the same composition; and cannot tell an L-amino acid from its D-form, which has the same mass. Charge states and deconvolution are covered in mass-spectrometry identity confirmation.
- LC-MS: a mass for each separated peak. Answers what each peak in the chromatogram is, so an impurity peak can be assigned, for example as a deletion sequence missing one residue. Cannot turn the mass trace into a purity figure; the percentage still comes from the UV chromatogram.
- Tandem mass spectrometry (MS/MS): residue order. Answers the order of residues, read from the fragment ions of a selected ion. Cannot show how much peptide the sample holds.
- Amino-acid analysis: composition and content. Answers which amino acids are present, in what ratio, and how much peptide a weighed sample contains, after acid hydrolysis (typically 6 M hydrochloric acid at about 110 °C for 24 hours). Cannot show residue order; tryptophan is destroyed by acid hydrolysis, and asparagine and glutamine are converted to aspartic and glutamic acid, so they are counted with them.
- Quantitative NMR or elemental nitrogen analysis: content. Answers the peptide mass in a weighed sample, against an internal standard (qNMR) or from the nitrogen fraction of the formula. Cannot show purity peak by peak or confirm the sequence.
- Karl Fischer titration, and ion chromatography or 19F NMR: water and counter-ion. Answers the water fraction and the acetate or trifluoroacetate fraction of the solid, which are subtracted from the total mass to give net peptide content. Cannot show anything about the peptide chain itself.
The first two, RP-HPLC purity and MS identity, are the pair a peptide analytical report is built around. Every analysis after them in the list is a separate line on a laboratory's menu, requested and charged separately. The two core techniques are compared side by side in HPLC vs mass spectrometry, and the content methods, with the arithmetic, are in how net peptide content is determined. As a scale for the counter-ion share: a hypothetical 1,000.0 g/mol peptide carrying two counter-ions is 89.3% peptide by mass as the acetate salt and 81.4% as the trifluoroacetate salt before any water is counted (worked in how net peptide content is determined; the salt forms themselves are in TFA vs acetate salts).
Worked example: the calculated masses a BPC-157 report is read against
BPC-157, the 15-residue peptide GEPPPGKPADDAGLV (C62H98N16O22, 1419.53 g/mol on the listing, PubChem CID 9941957, CAS 137525-51-0), shows how the identity line and an impurity peak are read. The values below are calculated from the formula with monoisotopic atomic masses and a proton mass of 1.007276 Da; they are not measured results.
| Species | Neutral monoisotopic mass (calculated, Da) | [M+H]+ (calculated m/z) | [M+2H]2+ (calculated m/z) |
| BPC-157, full sequence | 1418.70 | 1419.71 | 710.36 |
| Deletion sequence missing one glycine (−57.02 Da) | 1361.68 | 1362.69 | 681.85 |
| Deletion sequence missing one alanine (−71.04 Da) | 1347.67 | 1348.67 | 674.84 |
| Deletion sequence missing one proline (−97.05 Da) | 1321.65 | 1322.66 | 661.83 |
| Sodium adduct of the full sequence | 1418.70 | 1441.69 ([M+Na]+) | 721.35 ([M+H+Na]2+) |
A low-resolution instrument reports average mass, so there the expected figure is the listing's 1419.53 and the [M+2H]2+ ion falls near m/z 710.77. A tolerance of ±0.1% of 1419.53 is about ±1.4 Da, so a deconvoluted mass between about 1418.1 and 1420.9 matches. A deletion sequence is a different molecule, 57 to 97 Da lighter, and appears as its own peak; a sodium adduct is the same molecule carrying a sodium ion in place of a proton and is not a sequence error. Expected ions for the other listed compounds are in the expected mass table, and the identifiers behind them are in the CAS number and molecular weight table.
How do you compare peptide testing laboratories on price and turnaround?
Compare peptide testing laboratories on eight fields of their published service menus: analyses offered, method detail, price basis, turnaround, sample requirement, report contents, report verification and independence. Each analytical laboratory that accepts outside samples lists its analyses, list price per sample and stated turnaround on its own menu. This guide names no laboratory and copies no figure, because a copied list price or turnaround goes out of date as soon as the menu changes. Read the current figures on the laboratory's own menu and compare them field by field with the table below.
How to look up a printed code or key with the issuing laboratory is covered in the COA verification guide.
What sets the cost of independent peptide testing?
The cost of independent peptide testing is the sum of the analyses requested, per sample, at the laboratory's list price. Five things change the total:
- The number of analyses. Purity and identity are two analyses unless the menu sells them as one panel, and each content method is another line.
- The number of samples. Each vial or production run sent is a separate sample.
- The turnaround tier, where a laboratory sells more than one.
- Method development, where a sequence is new to the laboratory and has no established HPLC method.
- Shipping the sample to the laboratory, a cost outside the analysis itself.
What sets the turnaround time for peptide testing?
The turnaround of independent peptide testing is the laboratory's stated time from sample receipt to report, plus the shipping time before it. It lengthens with the number of analyses requested, with method development for a new sequence, with a repeat run when a system-suitability check fails on the day, and with the laboratory's queue when the sample arrives. A turnaround stated in business days excludes weekends and public holidays.
What does Pepta Labs state about its analytical report?
Pepta Labs is an online reseller of research peptides, not a manufacturer, production facility or testing laboratory, and it states its testing in one sentence: "Independent third-party HPLC purity analysis and mass-spectrometry identity confirmation, commissioned through the purchasing group on a sampled production run from the source. Pepta Labs does not test in-house."
- Who is named as the client. "Because testing is commissioned by the purchasing group, the client field may name the group or source rather than Pepta Labs, and supplier-identifying fields are redacted."
- How the report relates to a vial. "Vial labels identify the compound, quantity and research-use designation. They do not carry lot or batch numbers." Because vials are not lot-marked, a report is matched to a purchase by compound name and order rather than by a printed lot.
- What is not claimed. "Sterility, endotoxin or LAL, potency, pharmaceutical-grade, cGMP, contaminant-panel and vial fill-quantity testing are not claimed."
- What is not reported. Net peptide content is not reported per listing.
- How to get it. "Sent by email on request, before you order if you want to see it first." Requests go through the "Request the report for" button on each product page, the form on the quality page, or support@peptalabs.com, answered 9 AM to 9 PM Pacific, seven days a week.
Each listing shows the reported HPLC purity figure from the independent report, and the formula, molecular weight and CAS number where the listing records them. A buyer who wants a second measurement can send a sample to an analytical laboratory of their own choosing and compare its HPLC and MS lines with the Pepta Labs report field by field; the two reports then describe two different samples. How the whole catalog is documented, compound by compound, is set out in what research peptides are.
Frequently asked questions
How much does independent peptide testing cost?
Independent peptide testing costs the sum of the analyses requested, per sample, at the laboratory's published list price. RP-HPLC purity and mass-spectrometry identity are two analyses unless the menu sells them as one panel, and content methods such as amino-acid analysis are separate lines; this guide quotes no figures because laboratory menus change, so compare current menus on the same basis.
How long does independent peptide testing take?
It takes the laboratory's stated turnaround plus the shipping time to the laboratory. Read whether the stated figure is in business or calendar days and whether it counts from sample receipt or from the order; it grows with the number of analyses, method development for a new sequence and any repeat run.
Which analysis confirms identity, and which gives purity?
Mass spectrometry confirms identity by matching the observed mass to the mass calculated from the molecular formula, within about ±0.1% on low-resolution electrospray instruments. Reversed-phase HPLC gives purity as the main peak's share of the total integrated peak area. Neither measures net peptide content.
Can net peptide content be tested independently?
Yes. An analytical laboratory can determine net peptide content by amino-acid analysis, quantitative NMR or elemental nitrogen analysis, or by subtracting separately measured water and counter-ion from the total mass. It is a separate analysis from HPLC purity, and it is not reported for Pepta Labs listings.
Who performs the testing behind Pepta Labs reports?
An independent third-party laboratory, commissioned through the purchasing group on a sampled production run from the source; Pepta Labs does not test in-house. Because the purchasing group commissions the testing, the client field may name the group or source rather than Pepta Labs, and supplier-identifying fields are redacted.
Sources
- PubChem compound record CID 9941957 (BPC-157, C62H98N16O22).
- Calculated values: monoisotopic atomic masses C 12.000000, H 1.007825, N 14.003074, O 15.994915 and Na 22.989769, and a proton mass of 1.007276 Da, applied to the formula above.
See the report before you order. The "Request the report for" button on each listing, the form on the
quality page and support@peptalabs.com all return the available independent report by email. The worked example above uses
BPC-157 10 mg from $44.38 and
BPC-157 20 mg from $85.59; every listing is in the
catalog.
Code FALL25 gives 25% off at checkout.
All products are supplied for laboratory research use only and are not for human or animal use.
Information is provided for educational purposes only and is limited to chemistry, identity, analytical, ordering and regulatory-status facts. This content does not represent claims about products sold by Pepta Labs. All products are supplied for in-vitro laboratory research only. Not for human or animal consumption. See
Terms of Service and
Compliance Policy.
Browse Research Compounds
35 research compounds. Independent analytical reports (COA) available by email request. Free US shipping.
View Catalog →